Office of Governor Pat Quinn

Biography Employment Privacy Notice The ABC's Illinois Up Close and Personal Illinois History Web Site
Community Resources Exploring Illinois I Am A... I Want To... Illinois Carpool Teachers Resource Desk
Blackout Solutions Clean Water Green Solutions Healthy Communities Illinois Carpool Illinois Connect Illinois Main Street Illinois to the World No Pay Raise Operation Homefront Rural Affairs Save Our Eagles Save Our State Parks Service Learning Taxpayer Action Walk Across Illinois
Commentary Events Games Meeting Notices Publications Resources Stories Videos

This site provides support for the Office of the Lt Governor. For updated info on the Governor, use

Sustainable Cities Symposium

The State of Illinois
Green Governments Coordinating Council presented
The 2008 Sustainable Cities Symposium
on Friday, October 24, 2008.

Hosted by the Village of Lisle, Benedictine University, and The Morton Arboretum

at Benedictine University, Krasa Center, 5700 College Road, Lisle, IL 60532

Click here to download the complete Symposium Program, including the day's agenda, descriptions of Working Group sessions, and biographies for all speakers.

News on Symposium

Click on speakers' names below to download presentations.


Energy Efficiency
William Haas, DCEO & Tim Melloch, ComEd

Real-Time Electricity Pricing
Kathryn Eggers, CNT Energy

Renewable Energy Certificates
Lesley McCain, Community Energy, Inc.

Wind Energy
Gary Ofisher, Keeneyville School District


Green Building
Laureen Blissard, USGBC
April Hughes, Farr Associates

Addressing Climate Change Locally
Carolyn Collopy, City of Evanston
Melissa Hulting, U.S. EPA

Sustainable Community Design
Doug Farr, Farr Associates
Jessica Thompson, League of Illinois Bicyclists

Reducing Air and Light Pollution
Ashley Collins, Respiratory Health Association of Metropolitan Chicago
Russell Knaack, Village of Homer Glen

Products from Natural Sources
Christopher Canning, Village of Wilmette
Michael Kelly, BioBlend


Protecting Farmland
Janice Hill, Kane County & Lenore Beyer-Clow, Openlands

Recycling Programs for Local Governments
Kay McKeen, SCARCE

Biodiesel from Veggie Oil
Vince Olsen, Village of Algonquin

Managing Stormwater with Rain Gardens
Phil Stuepfert, SEC Group